Have you been accused of writing a worthless check in Florida? If so, you need to contact a Florida Worthless Check Lawyer immediately!
Drawing, issuing, making or delivering a check, draft or other written money order, or using a debit card for payment becomes illegal when there is insufficient funds to cover the payment. This criminal offense applies neither to postdated checks nor instances where the receiver of the check was previously informed that the funds were unavailable or would not be available until a later date.
Our experienced team of attorneys at Worth & Associates, PA is here to help you understand your rights and your options regarding this matter. A free consultation with a Florida Criminal Lawyer is offered at our firm. This is to allow you an opportunity to get a legal guidance and make an informed decision about your case.
Penalties for Issuing a Worthless Check in Florida
Issuing a worthless check worth less than $150 is a first degree transgression, punishable by up to 12 months in county jail and/or a fine up to $1,000. The issuer may accost civil charges as well and if convicted in civil court may end up paying up to three times the check’s value as well as attorney fees and other costs. Issuing a worthless check worth $150 or more is a third degree violation, punishable by up to 5 years in state prison and/or fine of $5,000 maximum.
A person who is issued a worthless check can file a formal notice to the issuer demanding full payment of the check value. If the latter does not pay within the time limit, he/she may face criminal and civil charges.
For a free case evaluation, contact a Florida worthless check lawyer at Worth & Associates, PA immediately.